Why did Julian Alaphilippe lose the yellow jersey at the Tour de France?

The latest stage of the Tour de France was the 183km-long race section from Gap to Privas.

The race started on Saturday in Nice — now we’re up to stage five. Here’s the latest on the famous race.

Who won the stage?

Belgian rider Wout van Aert took out the stage in a sprint finish into Privas, a day after he produced a tremendous effort in the Alps in support of Primoz Roglic, his Jumbo Visma team leader.

Van Aert used his power in the slight uphill finish to win by half a wheel ahead of Cees Bol and Irish sprinter Sam Bennett.

A rider sits up in the saddle as he rolls past the line after winning a stage of the Tour de France.
Belgium’s Wout Van Aert showed his class to win the sprint finish on stage five into Privas.(AP/Pool: Thibault Camus)

Unfortunately for the Belgian, who is also a three-time cyclocross world champion, his win was overshadowed by drama involving a change for the leader’s yellow jersey.

Who’s in the yellow jersey?

Julian Alaphilippe’s ride in the yellow jersey is over, and his rivals had nothing to do with it.

The Tour de France leader — who rides for team Deceuninck-Quick Step — was stripped of the coveted shirt after being handed a time penalty near the end of stage five. 

British rider Adam Yates was moved up to first place in the revised general standings after Alaphilippe was docked 20 seconds.

Why was Alaphilippe penalised?

A mask-wearing cyclist waves as sits on his bike in front of the podium at the Tour de France.
France’s Julian Alaphilippe waved goodbye to the yellow jersey after picking up a time penalty on stage five.(AP/Pool: Thibault Camus)

TV footage showed Alaphilippe grabbing a bottle from a staff member of his Deceuninck-Quick Step squad about 18 kilometres from the finish.


Under racing rules, riders are not allowed to receive provisions — either drinks or food — during the final 20 kilometres of a stage.

Cycling’s governing body, the UCI, said in a statement that two other riders, Sepp Kuss and Carlos Verona, were also penalised 20 seconds for the same offence.

Yates wasn’t happy about the way he was promoted to the lead.

“I don’t think any rider would want to take the jersey like this,” Yates said. “I just found out. Nobody wants to take a jersey like this.”

What are the new overall standings?

Yates now tops the standings with a three-second lead over last year’s Vuelta winner, Primoz Roglic, who won stage four.

Tadej Pogacar, another Slovenian rider, stands third, four seconds further back. Alaphilippe dropped to 16th overall, 16 seconds behind the new leader.

Rounding out the top five on the overall standings — known as the general classification — are another Frenchman, Guillaume Martin, at 9 seconds back, and defending champion Egan Bernal, who is 13 seconds off the lead.

Who is the leading Australian at the Tour?


There are only two Australian riders at this year’s Tour de France — Trek-Segafredo rider Richie Porte and Lotto Soudal’s Caleb Ewan.

Porte is a “GC” rider who is trying to finish as high as possible on general classification. He is 13 seconds from the lead in 15th position.

Ewan is a sprinter, who isn’t in contention for a top “GC” finish — he is 142nd overall, nearly 50 minutes off the lead, after finishing eighth on stage five.

The Australian made his mark on stage three, however, with an incredible weaving finish at breakneck speed to pip Bennett for the stage win.

Who is leading the green jersey?

That would be Alaphilippe’s Deceuninck-Quick Step teammate Bennett, whose third placing on stage five gave him enough points to hit the lead.

Bennett is on 20 points, ahead of Danish rider Michael Morkov on 17, and Ewan on 15.

Next is perennial green jersey winner Peter Sagan on 13.

Where does the Tour go next?

Stage six is a 191km ride starting at Le Teil, featuring long flat stretches before a couple of late climbs including nearly 12km on the Col de la Lusette. The stage will finish on a plateau after a final 15km run to the line.