Sydney FC crowned A-League champions after beating Melbourne City in grand final

Sydney FC has claimed a historic fifth A-League championship after beating Melbourne City 1-0 in extra time in a dramatic grand final.

After neither side was able to score in regular time at the Western Sydney Stadium, Rhyan Grant broke the deadlock in the 10th minute of the opening period of extra time.

Grant, who was awarded the Joe Marston Medal as player of the match, shouldered home Luke Brattan’s perfectly weighted chip to deny City a maiden A-League title.

The Sky Blues are the first club to win five A-League championships and the second to win back-to-back grand finals.

More to come.