Queensland to reopen borders to areas of NSW as state records zero new coronavirus cases

Queensland will extend its border zone to include five more areas in New South Wales.

From 1:00am on October 1, Byron Bay, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Glen Innes local government areas will be able to travel into Queensland.

It comes as the state recorded zero new coronavirus cases overnight, leaving just 16 active cases overnight.

The extended border zone will include 41 New South Wales postcodes, spanning 11 local government areas.

Residents will have to apply for a border pass to travel into Queensland.

Queensland residents will also be able to travel to those areas from October 1.

“I think this is a great effort to consider how we can make our border zones more effective,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“These areas have a lot in common with Queensland, they do a lot of their business in Queensland so we believe this is the right measure to take.”

Deputy Premier Steven Miles said there were 152,000 residents in the border zones who would now be able to travel into Queensland.

“These are people who might live in New South Wales, but many feel more of an affinity with Queensland,” Mr Miles said.

More to come.