NRL finalises State of Origin venues, with Adelaide to host first game

Category: کارما No comments

The NRL has finalised the venues for this year’s State of Origin series, with Adelaide Oval to host game one on Wednesday, November 4.

It will be the first time Adelaide will host a match in the rugby league state of series, which has been delayed from June to November because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The city has, however, played host to numerous VFL/AFL State of Origin games.

The last one, between South Australia and Western Australia, was held at the now-decommissioned Football Park in 1998.

Game two of the NRL Origin series will be held at Sydney’s Olympic Stadium on Wednesday, November 11.

Lang Park in Brisbane will be the venue for the final game in the series a week later.

Now in its third year, the Women’s State of Origin will be held on the Sunshine Coast on November 13, moving from North Sydney Oval for the first time.


Events South Australia executive director Hitaf Rasheed said she hoped Adelaide’s event would draw visitors from other states.

“We’re still hoping that thousands of people will travel to South Australia for the game and it’s great news that the ACT border is open today,” she said.

“Queensland, of course, is open and we’re hopeful that New South Wales will open shortly … so we’re still hoping for thousands of people to travel.”

Crowd capacities for each venue will be finalised before the end of the month.

However, Ms Rasheed said she was excited at the prospect of the Adelaide game going ahead in front of a large crowd.

“The NRL have had approval for 50 per cent capacity [at the games] … that’s 26,750 people [at Adelaide Oval], so we are looking forward to welcoming those people into the stadium,” she said.

Details about the Origin’s coronavirus bubble conditions and duration are yet to be finalised but the Rugby League Players Association, NRL and state leagues need to reach a conclusion by next week.


Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>